Big Brothers Big Sisters acknowledges that we carry out our work on the unceded and unsurrendered territories of the Wabanaki (Dawnland Confederacy), the Wolastoqiyik, Mi’kma’ki, Abenaki and the Passamaquoddy. This territory is covered by the “Treaties of Peace and Friendship” which Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet), Passamaquoddy and Mi’kmaq peoples signed with the British Crown in the 1700’s. The treaties did not surrender the territory and resources but in fact recognized Mi’kmaq, Wolastoqiyik, and Passamaquoddy title, and established the rules for what was to be an ongoing relationship between nations. We pay respect to the elders, past and present, and descendants of this land.